Explore the Oldest Dioceses in South Asia

Cardinal Cheong

The cathedral of the first diocese in India.

It is believed that Christianity was introduced to India by Thomas the Apostle,
who is said to have reached the Malabar Coast of Kerala in 52 AD.

Christian communities developed and expanded further when
Portuguese missionaries arrived in the 13th and 14th centuries.

History of a few oldest dioceses in India as the cradle of Indian Christianity
can be dated back to the 15th century.

Find out which is the first diocese in India here.

Support our Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory now.

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Archdiocese of Visakapatnam

Report An Error
Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu
Archbishop Mallavarapu
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu
Archbishop's House,
Maharanipeta Visakhapatnam
530 002 Andhra Pradesh, India

Phone: +91- 891-2706428 (o) , +91- 891- 2704404 (p)
Fax :+91-891 -270 5781
Email: [email protected], [email protected]

Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu was born on Jan. 29, 1949 in Nizamabad in Hyderabad. He was ordained priest on Oct. 11, 1979. He was appointed bishop of Cuddapah on May 22, 1998, and was installed on July 22, 1998. On July 26, 2002 he was transferred to the diocese of Vijayawada.

Pope Benedict XVI appointed him archbishop of Vishakapatnam on July 3, 2012. On Aug. 10, 2012, Apostolic Nuncio Archbishop Salvatore Pennacchio led the installation ceremony at the cathedral of Visakhapatnam. He succeeds Archbishop Mariadas Kagithapu, M.S.F.S., whose resignation from the pastoral care of the same archdiocese the pope accepted, upon having reached the age limit.

Archbishop Prakash Mallavarapu is the secretary general of the Conference of Catholics Bishops in India, a body of Latin Rite bishops in India.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Archbishop Kagithapu Mariadas Francis De Sales (2001-2012)
  • Archbishop Francis De Sales Kagithapu Mariadas (1982-2012)
  • Bishop Gopu Ignatius (1966-1981)
  • Bishop Joseph A. Baud (1947-1966)
  • Bishop Peter Rossillion (1926-1947)
  • Bishop Jean Marie Clerc (1891-1926)
  • Bishop Joseph Marie Tissot (1863-1886)
  • Bishop T. Sebastian Neyret (1849-1862)

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
Union des Nouvelles Catholiques Asiatiques (UCA News, UCAN)
31 Avenue de Ségur
75007 Paris.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]