Explore the Oldest Dioceses in South Asia

Cardinal Cheong

The cathedral of the first diocese in India.

It is believed that Christianity was introduced to India by Thomas the Apostle,
who is said to have reached the Malabar Coast of Kerala in 52 AD.

Christian communities developed and expanded further when
Portuguese missionaries arrived in the 13th and 14th centuries.

History of a few oldest dioceses in India as the cradle of Indian Christianity
can be dated back to the 15th century.

Find out which is the first diocese in India here.

Support our Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory now.

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Archdiocese of Dhaka

Report An Error
Archbishop Bejoy Nicephorus D’Cruze
Archbishop  D’Cruze
  • Facebook Share
  • Twitter Share
Archbishop Bejoy Nicephorus D’Cruze
Archbishop's House,
G.P.O. Box 3, 1 Kakrail Road,
Ramna, Dhaka 1000, Bangladesh

Phone: +88 08212871010, +8801715145571
Email: [email protected]

Pope Francis has appointed Bishop Bejoy Nicephorus D’Cruze, as Archbishop of Dhaka on September 30, 2020. Bishop D’Cruze has been serving as Bishop of the Diocese of Sylhet.

Bishop Bejoy Nicephorus D’Cruze was born at Tuital under Nawabganj upazila in Dhaka on February 9, 1956.

He was ordained a priest on February 20, 1987. His episcopal ordination was first as the Bishop of Khulna diocese on May 6, 2005.

Oblate Bishop D’Cruze was appointed bishop of Sylhet on July 8, 2011. His installation took place in Moulvibazar on September 30, 2011. Bishop D’Cruze has had roles as chairman of the Episcopal Commission for Christian Unity and Interreligious Dialogue and the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of Bangladesh.

Previous Ordinaries:

  • Bishop Shorot Francis Gomes (8 Feb 2016 to 12 May 2021)
  • Cardinal Patrick D’Rozario (22 Oct 2011 Succeeded - 30 Sep 2020 Retired)
  • Archbishop Paulinus Costa (2005-2011)
  • Retired Archbishop Michael Rozario (1978-2005)
  • Holy Cross Archbishop Theotonius Amal Ganguly (1967-1977)
  • Bishop Theotonius Gomes (1964-2014)
  • Holy Cross Archbishop Lawrence Leo Graner (1947-1967)
  • Holy Cross Bishop Timothy John Crowly (1929-1945)
  • Holy Cross Bishop Joseph Armand Legrand (1916-1929)
  • Holy Cross Bishop Francis Frederick Linneborn (1909-1915)
  • Holy Cross Bishop Peter Joseph Hurth (1894-1909)
  • Holy Cross Bishop Augustine Joseph Louage (1891-1894)

Help us improve the Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory

Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
Support Asian Catholic Dioceses Directory
UCA News
Union des Nouvelles Catholiques Asiatiques (UCA News, UCAN)
31 Avenue de Ségur
75007 Paris.
Union of Catholic Asian News Limited
P.O. Box 69626,
Kwun Tong,
Hong Kong
[email protected]